Can you call the Cubbies

"Coach Pinella - Mary Beth Laird of San Clemente, California wants to know if tonight's game will be played, and if so, should she bring a poncho or an umbrella?"

"Coach Pinella - Mary Beth Laird of San Clemente, California wants to know if tonight's game will be played, and if so, should she bring a poncho or an umbrella?"

A lady walked up to me two days ago when it was storming, and, cool as you like, says:

“Can you call the Cubbies and see if they’re gonna play this game tonight?”

Why yes ma’am!  There are about 38,000 other potential attendees to tonight’s game who would also like to know if it’s going to be rained out, so rather than call the guy who sits in a room at Wrigley Field and waits for me to call, I’m just gonna call right in to the bullpen phone in the dugout.  I tried Lou’s cell phone earlier – wanted to see how Derek Lee’s bulging neck discs are doing – but it just went to his voicemail.  Hold on, it’s ringing.  Lou?  It’s me.  Hey we playing this game tonight or what?  How does the Doppler look?  Uh huh.  Ok.  Hey what’s the steal sign tonight?  Yeah?  Ok.  And you’re going to rest Marmol’s arm like I told you?  Just get Guzman some innings.  Ok.  Yeah.  Alright, go get em Lou.  Call me after the game.  You, me, and Ernie Banks are supposed to go to Barleycorne.  I’m off tomorrow, let’s rage.  Yeah.  Ok.  Talk to you later.

Ok!  Looks like the game’s on!  Anything else I can help you with?

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

